Why I stopped saying #thankyoutoday

Picture1In 2012 and 2013 I posted 730 tweets sharing what I wanted to say #thankyoutoday for. One tweet every day.

As a person, I love the new and am easily bored of the normal – keeping a New Year’s Resolution for two years was nothing short of a miracle but it became normal, and – dare I say it – boring. But after two years of this new habit, I thought that it’s power to help me think, behave and observe the world in a more positive light, had gone and it was now redundant.

In a nutshell, I was wrong.

These last two months haven’t been more negative by any stretch of the imagination; it has been a roller coaster of great excitements, new challenges and working out what 2014, with all its changes, looks like for me. But the power of a habit is in its practise, not the knowledge that I can do it if I wanted to.

The three things I have missed about daily #thankyoutoday tweets, and the three reasons I will start again are:

1, Life is good. A practise of thankfulness is also a practise in hope and a content heart. There are always things to be thankful for.

2, Life is not good. Thankfulness banishes bitterness. Difficulty and brokenness is part of life but I will not allow them to linger for long in my heart or home.

3, Life is precious. I refuse to live aimlessly. I will not wander through my years. I will take notice of every moment and choose a happy heart. Thankfulness breeds intentionality and positivity.

This is my life, I choose this habit and I will practice it well.

February 28th: #thankyoutoday that I learned the importance and power of practising a habit. 

Leave a comment